Reviews

f-l-b-logo-small.fw
Frech L Disc-small.fw

The staff were so friendly and helpful. We celebrated our friends birthday here so were a party of 12 - I had highly recommend the mussels ! Nothing too much trouble for the staff and food was delicious. It poured with rain while we were in here which made the view of the sea so much more interesting !

tripadvisor-2
Stoke Poges,
French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2017-03-06T20:44:30+00:00
Stoke Poges,
tripadvisor-2
The staff were so friendly and helpful. We celebrated our friends birthday here so were a party of 12 – I had highly recommend the mussels ! Nothing too much trouble for the staff and food was delicious. It poured with rain while we were in here which made the view of the sea so View Full →
Imagine 4 guys going to eat fish for dinner not once but twice in a row. The stars of the show were the fish dishes whether skate, brill or bream - with the fish cooked to perfection accompanied by delicious sauces plus mussels for starters that were fat and juicy. The staff added the finishing touch with their service and friendly approach.  A must for dinner !

tripadvisor-2

Tony B

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T10:47:38+00:00

Tony B

tripadvisor-2
Imagine 4 guys going to eat fish for dinner not once but twice in a row. The stars of the show were the fish dishes whether skate, brill or bream – with the fish cooked to perfection accompanied by delicious sauces plus mussels for starters that were fat and juicy. The staff added the finishing View Full →
We had a drink on the lovely outside terrace overlooking the harbour and returned the next day for dinner. Scallops were beautifully cooked, a large chicken liver pate, the bream was superb as was the pork. Lots of fish choices and excellent, friendly service. I would highly recommend-I liked the umbrellas outside!!

tripadvisor-2

crystaltippsLondon

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:22:50+00:00

crystaltippsLondon

tripadvisor-2
We had a drink on the lovely outside terrace overlooking the harbour and returned the next day for dinner. Scallops were beautifully cooked, a large chicken liver pate, the bream was superb as was the pork. Lots of fish choices and excellent, friendly service. I would highly recommend-I liked the umbrellas outside!!
A group of six went for dinner last night. The sea bass was truly excellent, fresh and cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the sea view stunning. Will certainly be back.

tripadvisor-2

Jim T

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-10-03T19:19:39+00:00

Jim T

tripadvisor-2
A group of six went for dinner last night. The sea bass was truly excellent, fresh and cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the sea view stunning. Will certainly be back.
I booked in advance by a couple of weeks and we had a great table for 4. Waiting staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Food was fabulous. Great surf and turfs, lovely ribeye steak and a good fish dish. The scallops were amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be back again in the future

tripadvisor-2

Clairem1

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:15:27+00:00

Clairem1

tripadvisor-2
I booked in advance by a couple of weeks and we had a great table for 4. Waiting staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Food was fabulous. Great surf and turfs, lovely ribeye steak and a good fish dish. The scallops were amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be back again in the future
We noticed this bistro when the premises, which was a shop, closed, & was being changed to the bistro. We wanted to drive down from Somerset, last Bank Holiday Monday, with a friend, for breakfast in Lyme Regis. I telephoned first & reserved a table. When we arrived, the weather was glorious, so we were able to choose a table outside instead. What a view. Very friendly efficient staff & excellent choice. I am a vegetarian so they adapted the cooked breakfast to suit me - excellent coffee too. Reasonably priced. We look forward to returning again. The interior is lovely also.

tripadvisor-2

MissMoneypenny

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-10-03T19:21:43+00:00

MissMoneypenny

tripadvisor-2
We noticed this bistro when the premises, which was a shop, closed, & was being changed to the bistro. We wanted to drive down from Somerset, last Bank Holiday Monday, with a friend, for breakfast in Lyme Regis. I telephoned first & reserved a table. When we arrived, the weather was glorious, so we were View Full →
We were invited to this restaurant with some friends...As soon as we arrived there was a very warm welcome and we were attended to straightaway. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and funny. We were delighted with the service and beautiful atmosphere, not to mention the stunning view overlooking Lyme Bay. We chose from a gorgeous menu selection, and had a truly delicious meal. I definitely recommend the fillet steak, just beautifully cooked, and amazingly tasting. There was fresh lobster as a special and other choices of local fish cuisine. It was hard to choose from the lovely desserts on offer, but I wasn't disappointed with the lovely pannacotta....I would definitely recommend eating here for a truly delicious meal. We all had a fantastic evening.

tripadvisor-2

Karen H

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T13:11:59+00:00

Karen H

tripadvisor-2
We were invited to this restaurant with some friends…As soon as we arrived there was a very warm welcome and we were attended to straightaway. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and funny. We were delighted with the service and beautiful atmosphere, not to mention the stunning view overlooking Lyme Bay. We chose from a View Full →
Bank Holiday Monday lunch and what a delight to find space at the French Lieutenants Bistro, what a wonderful welcome, service was superb, food was simply fabulous, nothing we could fault at all and we are a very mixed bunch of 5 diners! We will definitely be returning!

tripadvisor-2

SJ11sam

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T10:52:33+00:00

SJ11sam

tripadvisor-2
Bank Holiday Monday lunch and what a delight to find space at the French Lieutenants Bistro, what a wonderful welcome, service was superb, food was simply fabulous, nothing we could fault at all and we are a very mixed bunch of 5 diners! We will definitely be returning!
Recommended by our hotel (The Grove) and what a sensational meal we had there. Brill in every respect as there was fresh and perfectly cooked brill on the evening menu which was so fantastic we came back the next day for lunch and had it again, this time on a nice outside table by the sea and once more freshly caught and once more wonderfully cooked by the same chef as the night before! The rest of the meal was also fantastic with the apple crumble outstanding and we could not speak more highly of the sensational food throughout and lovely friendly service making for a great atmosphere at this exceptional bistro.

tripadvisor-2

andynjane

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:20:22+00:00

andynjane

tripadvisor-2
Recommended by our hotel (The Grove) and what a sensational meal we had there. Brill in every respect as there was fresh and perfectly cooked brill on the evening menu which was so fantastic we came back the next day for lunch and had it again, this time on a nice outside table by the View Full →
5.0
9