Reviews

f-l-b-logo-small.fw
Frech L Disc-small.fw

A delightful place to have dinner, wind down and conclude our visit to Lyme Regis. The food was excellent as we savoured the local seafood. Everything was marvellous, including the service.

Calvin Heng

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2017-07-17T20:27:01+00:00

Calvin Heng

A delightful place to have dinner, wind down and conclude our visit to Lyme Regis. The food was excellent as we savoured the local seafood. Everything was marvellous, including the service.
Imagine 4 guys going to eat fish for dinner not once but twice in a row. The stars of the show were the fish dishes whether skate, brill or bream - with the fish cooked to perfection accompanied by delicious sauces plus mussels for starters that were fat and juicy. The staff added the finishing touch with their service and friendly approach.  A must for dinner !

tripadvisor-2

Tony B

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T10:47:38+00:00

Tony B

tripadvisor-2
Imagine 4 guys going to eat fish for dinner not once but twice in a row. The stars of the show were the fish dishes whether skate, brill or bream – with the fish cooked to perfection accompanied by delicious sauces plus mussels for starters that were fat and juicy. The staff added the finishing View Full →
A group of six went for dinner last night. The sea bass was truly excellent, fresh and cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the sea view stunning. Will certainly be back.

tripadvisor-2

Jim T

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-10-03T19:19:39+00:00

Jim T

tripadvisor-2
A group of six went for dinner last night. The sea bass was truly excellent, fresh and cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the sea view stunning. Will certainly be back.
Recommended by our hotel (The Grove) and what a sensational meal we had there. Brill in every respect as there was fresh and perfectly cooked brill on the evening menu which was so fantastic we came back the next day for lunch and had it again, this time on a nice outside table by the sea and once more freshly caught and once more wonderfully cooked by the same chef as the night before! The rest of the meal was also fantastic with the apple crumble outstanding and we could not speak more highly of the sensational food throughout and lovely friendly service making for a great atmosphere at this exceptional bistro.

tripadvisor-2

andynjane

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:20:22+00:00

andynjane

tripadvisor-2
Recommended by our hotel (The Grove) and what a sensational meal we had there. Brill in every respect as there was fresh and perfectly cooked brill on the evening menu which was so fantastic we came back the next day for lunch and had it again, this time on a nice outside table by the View Full →
I booked in advance by a couple of weeks and we had a great table for 4. Waiting staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Food was fabulous. Great surf and turfs, lovely ribeye steak and a good fish dish. The scallops were amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be back again in the future

tripadvisor-2

Clairem1

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:15:27+00:00

Clairem1

tripadvisor-2
I booked in advance by a couple of weeks and we had a great table for 4. Waiting staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Food was fabulous. Great surf and turfs, lovely ribeye steak and a good fish dish. The scallops were amazing. Would definitely recommend and will be back again in the future
The staff were so friendly and helpful. We celebrated our friends birthday here so were a party of 12 - I had highly recommend the mussels ! Nothing too much trouble for the staff and food was delicious. It poured with rain while we were in here which made the view of the sea so much more interesting !

tripadvisor-2
Stoke Poges,
French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2017-03-06T20:44:30+00:00
Stoke Poges,
tripadvisor-2
The staff were so friendly and helpful. We celebrated our friends birthday here so were a party of 12 – I had highly recommend the mussels ! Nothing too much trouble for the staff and food was delicious. It poured with rain while we were in here which made the view of the sea so View Full →
We had a drink on the lovely outside terrace overlooking the harbour and returned the next day for dinner. Scallops were beautifully cooked, a large chicken liver pate, the bream was superb as was the pork. Lots of fish choices and excellent, friendly service. I would highly recommend-I liked the umbrellas outside!!

tripadvisor-2

crystaltippsLondon

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-08-19T20:22:50+00:00

crystaltippsLondon

tripadvisor-2
We had a drink on the lovely outside terrace overlooking the harbour and returned the next day for dinner. Scallops were beautifully cooked, a large chicken liver pate, the bream was superb as was the pork. Lots of fish choices and excellent, friendly service. I would highly recommend-I liked the umbrellas outside!!
Visited as a party of 10 for a 40th birthday celebration. Staff were happy to supply a menu beforehand for us to study!
Food was amazing, we all ate in silence!!
Out party had lobster bisque, scallops, mussels, soup, fish pie, fillet steaks, fish platter, belly pork, cheese boards and homemade desserts.
There is a great choice of wine and other drinks, both alcoholic and no alcohol.
The staff are very attentive, the restaurant has a great atmosphere and lovely acoustic music playing in the background, just perfect for what we were looking for!
The prices are reasonable for the standard of the food, you are also treated to a sea view.
Will return!

tripadvisor-2

Stacy S

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2017-03-06T20:47:21+00:00

Stacy S

tripadvisor-2
Visited as a party of 10 for a 40th birthday celebration. Staff were happy to supply a menu beforehand for us to study! Food was amazing, we all ate in silence!! Out party had lobster bisque, scallops, mussels, soup, fish pie, fillet steaks, fish platter, belly pork, cheese boards and homemade desserts. There is a View Full →
Bank Holiday Monday lunch and what a delight to find space at the French Lieutenants Bistro, what a wonderful welcome, service was superb, food was simply fabulous, nothing we could fault at all and we are a very mixed bunch of 5 diners! We will definitely be returning!

tripadvisor-2

SJ11sam

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T10:52:33+00:00

SJ11sam

tripadvisor-2
Bank Holiday Monday lunch and what a delight to find space at the French Lieutenants Bistro, what a wonderful welcome, service was superb, food was simply fabulous, nothing we could fault at all and we are a very mixed bunch of 5 diners! We will definitely be returning!
We were invited to this restaurant with some friends...As soon as we arrived there was a very warm welcome and we were attended to straightaway. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and funny. We were delighted with the service and beautiful atmosphere, not to mention the stunning view overlooking Lyme Bay. We chose from a gorgeous menu selection, and had a truly delicious meal. I definitely recommend the fillet steak, just beautifully cooked, and amazingly tasting. There was fresh lobster as a special and other choices of local fish cuisine. It was hard to choose from the lovely desserts on offer, but I wasn't disappointed with the lovely pannacotta....I would definitely recommend eating here for a truly delicious meal. We all had a fantastic evening.

tripadvisor-2

Karen H

French Lieutenant's Bistro, Lyme Regis, Dorset
5.0
2016-05-30T13:11:59+00:00

Karen H

tripadvisor-2
We were invited to this restaurant with some friends…As soon as we arrived there was a very warm welcome and we were attended to straightaway. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and funny. We were delighted with the service and beautiful atmosphere, not to mention the stunning view overlooking Lyme Bay. We chose from a View Full →
5.0
10